StarCraft: Brood War is the expansion for the original StarCraft campaign and features 3 new episodes involving the Protoss, Terran and Zerg. It takes place just after the end of the original campaign when the Zerg Overmind was destroyed. There are new tech advancements such as anti-air attack range upgrades for the Goliath, at least 2 new units for each race, new music and new tilesets.

For the first campaign you’ll control the Protoss as they flee their homeworld and look for another world to colonize. The Terran campaign features a new faction called the United Earth Directorate as they leave Earth and attempt to take over parts of the galaxy. The last campaign focuses on Kerrigan as she attempts to gain control over all of the Zerg.

StarCraft: Brood War Walkthrough

Protoss (Episode 4)

Escape from Aiur
Dunes of Shakuras
Legacy of the Xel’Naga
The Quest for Uraj
The Battle of Braxis
Return to Char
The Insurgent

Terran (Episode 5)

First Strike
The Dylarian Shipyards
Ruins of Tarsonis
Assault on Korhal
Emperor’s Fall (Ground Zero)
Emperor’s Fall (Birds of War)
Emperor’s Flight
Patriot’s Blood
To Chain the Beast

Zerg (Episode 6)

Vile Disruption
Reign of Fire
The Kel-Morian Combine
The Liberation of Korhal
True Colors
Fury of the Swarm
Drawing of the Web
To Slay the Beast
The Reckoning
Dark Origin

StarCraft: Brood War is the second expansion for StarCraft and was released in 1998 for Windows and Mac OS. The first expansion, Insurrection, was widely critised for not measuring up to the quality of the original game and is therefore not widely known.

The remastered version of Brood War was released in August 2017 and is available from the Blizzard website. It’s centered around the three species of the StarCraft universe, the Zerg, Protoss and Terran races.